MP for North Swindon

Justin Tomlinson MP

Swindon's New MPs To Be Sworn In


Swindon’s two new Conservative MPs are to be ‘sworn in’ on Thursday 20 May.

The historic ceremony will mean that Justin Tomlinson (North Swindon) and Robert Buckland (South Swindon) can both officially take their seats as  Members of the House of Commons.

Members of both Houses of Parliament are required by law to take an oath of allegiance to the Crown before they can take their seat in Parliament.

This process is known as swearing in, and this year is taking place over several days.

Justin Tomlinson said, “It will be a real honour to take the oath of allegiance and then properly begin work as a Member of Parliament.  I can’t wait.”

Robert Buckland said, “I’m a big believer in the history and traditions of Parliament.  The swearing in ceremony may look like a quaint tradition, but I regard it as incredibly important”.

The first proper sitting of Parliament is next Tuesday 25 May, with the State Opening and the Queen’s Speech.

Footage of Justin Tomlinson MP & Robert Buckland MP being sworn in can be seen on:

They are approximately 41 minutes into the footage, which you can scroll to.

Font Size: Larger | Smaller | Reset